Do you know how many candy companies lie about containing gluten because they're drunk on their Willy Wonka-like power? Most of them. For instance, many of the seasonal editions of candies that come in holiday shapes are made in special molds which are coated in flour to prevent candy from sticking. Even if you have a slight tolerance for gluten, eating enough of them can ruin your day with a headache, stomach cramps, joint pain, fatigue, and/or brain fog. (Yes, the symptoms of a bad gluten reaction are cruelly diverse).
So when it comes to finding gluten-free Halloween candy, you have to be smart about your choices. In order to be labeled as "gluten free," the FDA requires a product "to contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. This level is the lowest that can be reliably detected in foods using scientifically validated analytical methods." So unless a packaging clearly says "gluten free," it's contaminated with enough gluten for very sensitive individuals to be negatively affected.
The Celiac Foundation confirms that all of the following products are gluten-free. Whether you have Celiac disease, a wheat allergy, gluten intolerance, a sensitivity, or you're one of those unwholesome people who refuse to consume gluten because Instagram told you not to, these Halloween candies have been tested by real people with bad stomachs—like me. We've suffered, so you don't have to. You're welcome.
(Most) Hershey Products
- Almond Joy Candy -All Except ALMOND JOY PIECES Candy
- Heath Bars
- Hershey Kisses Candies
- Hershey's Nuggets Chocolates
- Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar (includes Aerated Milk Chocolate Bar)
- Hershey's Milk Duds
- Mounds Bars
- Payday Candy
- Reese's Peanut Butter Cups – all except Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Items
- Reese's Pieces – all except Eggs
- Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate – all except Minis
- Sharffen Berger
- Skor Toffee Bars
- York Peppermint Patties – all except York Pieces, Minis, and Shapes